The Flavor of Mint

       At the beginning I was so unhappy about Linux distributions. Because I didn’t found the right thing to satisfy me. So I tried lot of distribution. I tried Fedora 8 (it’s my 1st shot), Debian Etch, Elive, Ubuntu and Kubuntu.

            But finally I found Linux Mint. Presently I’m using Linux Mint4 Daryna KDE Community edition. Well all I have to say is “Cool”! It comes with all the latest Linux packages, and especially it’s a good solution for people that don’t have an internet connection at their home.

            There are some special features I really like in Daryna. The first thing is its very user friendly so it’s easy to work with, and it’s also focused on Entertainment side. I mean about the players, like Kaffeine, MPlayer and Amarok. Yet I didn’t found any media format which is not running in these players! Amazing huh! Usually in other linux distros we have to download the codecs and stuff to run media files for the first time we use it. But Daryna provides all those things in its DVD.

            I have to say something about the ‘Kate text editor’. It makes my work very convenient.  I use it for my coding purposes instead of ‘vi editor’. I use it to code “html, xml, java scripting, c++, c and php”. K3B is another exiting software to use! Once I heard that it’s the finest CD/DVD writing tool in Open Source Software.  When I want to do any Art Work I usually open GIMP.  Daryna provides the latest version of GIMP. It works just like adobe photo shop, but very simple and low memory consuming.

            Some other Software I like in Daryna is Gwenview, Kpdf, OpenOffice and FireFox.  You only have to spend 25 minutes of installation time to experience its taste. I personally think all other Linux distributions should be like Linux Mint. Because its very attractive, accurate and reliable to work with. I think Linux Mint is another tremendous achieve of GNU/Linux.        

                           

2 Responses to “The Flavor of Mint”

  1. Daniel Says:

    I use Linux Mint 5 on my laptop (Acer Travelmate 382TCi with upgraded DDR to 2Gb)…and I found it to be fantastic. I have tried Fedora and Ub/Ku/Xubuntu but none was any good for me. Linux Mint 5 is the one I think.

    Lovely distribution.

  2. Gaveen Says:

    I really agree that Mint is an excellent distro. I’ve been using Mint 5 Elyssa on several computers since it was released. Mint is what I recommend to a potential Linux user these days. After 7 years of promoting various distros, I know when a new user is impressed. 😉

    You seems to be a KDE fan, perhaps that’s why you still keeps Daryna. Elyssa KDE CE is going to be released soon. Personally I find KDE a bit cluttered and distracting, so I mainly use GNOME. But it’s not a religious preference as I find KDE 4.1 also great.

    I think I’m going to install Fedora 10 on my laptop when it’s released as I don’t mind installing a few things plus a few minor reasons. 🙂 But that shouldn’t really take anything from Mint (or Ubuntu). Mint is really a good distro which let’s people without much tech background switch to Linux with convenience.

    MPlayer is my favorite and probably the player which plays the most number of formats in the world. K3B is very good. I use gedit and vim as editors. gedit have a powerful plugin selection which makes it a killer tool for me.

    My only complain (or rather a rant) about Mint so far is that Evolution is not the default e mail client.


Leave a Reply

